exception of from 7th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John A. Macdonald has been in power during the whole period.

Bepartmental changes.

59. In 1879 a Bill was passed dividing the office of the Minister of Public Works, the new Department assuming exclusive control of Railways and Canals; and in the same Session the office of Receiver-General was abolished.

Cabinet Ministers

60. The following are the names of members from time since 1867 to time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments:-

LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION.

FIRST MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
Minister of Justice and	Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, G.C.B. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, G.C.B.	
Minister of Finance	Hon. Sir A. T. Galt	Oct. 9, 1869
Minister of Public Works Minister of Militia and Defence	Hon. W. MacDougall 'Sir Hector Langevin	July 1, 1867 Dec. 9, 1869
	" Hugh McDonald Hon. Sir S. L. Tilley " Sir Charles Tupper	July 1, 1867
ture	Hon. J. C. Chapais	Nov. 16, 1869 Oct. 25, 1871 July 1, 1867
Minister of Marine and Fisheries Minister of Inland	" John O'Connor Hon. Peter Mitchell Hon. W. P. Howland	July 1, 1867
196161116	" A. Morris" " Sir Charles Tupper" " John O'Connor" " T. M. Gibbs	Nov 16, 1869 July 2, 1872 Mar. 4, 1873
Minister of Interior	Hon, Sir A. Campbell	July 1, 1873